

# PENNSYLVANIA STATE LAW ENFORCEMENT CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMISSION Quarterly Meeting Minutes

Thursday, January 21, 2021 at 2:00 p.m.

(Virtual Meeting *via* Microsoft Teams Platform)

#### At 1:47 p.m. Executive Session

Sha S. Brown, Commission Chairperson, began an executive session of the Commission. Topics of the executive session included various administrative tasks and a review of the Commission Meeting Agenda. The executive session ended at 2:05 p.m.

#### At 2:05 p.m. Public Meeting Started and Recording Began

The first quarterly public meeting of the Pennsylvania State Law Enforcement Citizen Advisory Commission (PSLECAC) was held virtually using the Microsoft Teams platform on Thursday, January 21, 2021. Notice of the public meeting was advertised in THE PATRIOT NEWS on January 14, 2021 in accordance with Pennsylvania's Sunshine Act (*see* Attachment 1) and both the Notice of Public Meeting and the Commission Meeting Agenda was posted on PSLECAC's website (*see* Attachment 2). The meeting was convened at 2:05 p.m. by Sha S. Brown, Commission Chairperson, who stated that he was honored to welcome the public to the first quarterly public meeting of the new PSLECAC.

Chairperson Brown announced that the proceedings of this meeting were being recorded by the PSLECAC. The PSLECAC's recordings are protected by the copyright laws of the United States and may not be used in any manner without the express written consent of the PSLECAC. By participating in the PSLECAC's meeting, members of the public acknowledge that the PSLECAC may use its recordings for any purpose without obtaining permission or paying any compensation.

#### At 2:07 p.m. Call to Order by Chairperson Brown

## At 2:08 p.m. Introduction of, and Roll Call by, Acting Commission Secretary Amanda Nuñez

Acting Commission Secretary Nunez read the names of all Commission members aloud and those in attendance responded by announcing their presence. All 21 voting members of the Commission were virtually in attendance and a quorum of the Commission was present. A copy of the Roll Call and Attendance Form is attached hereto and made a part hereof (*see* Attachment 3).

#### At 2:10 p.m. Introduction of PSLECAC's Ex-Officio Commission Members

Chairperson Brown introduced the Commission's ex-officio members. Those in attendance included:

- Marcus L. Brown, Pennsylvania Director of Homeland Security, Governor's Office
- Anne G. Cornick, Deputy General Counsel, OGC

- Christopher King, Captain, PSP
- Joseph Jacob, Chief, Pennsylvania Capitol Police
- John Norbeck, Deputy Secretary, DCNR
- Michael Pennington, Executive Director, PCCD

## At 2:11 p.m. Introduction of, and Administration of the Oath of Office by State Inspector General Lucas M. Miller for all Commission Members

Chairperson Brown introduced State Inspector General Lucas M. Miller who proceeded to welcome all Commission members and administer the Oath of Office. Following the administration of the Oath of Office by State Inspector General Miller, all Commission members in attendance responded with a "Yes".

#### At 2:13 p.m. Commission Meeting Agenda and Adoption of Previous Meeting Minutes

Chairman Brown discussed items listed on the Commission's Meeting Agenda. Because this was the first quarterly meeting of the PSLECAC, there were no previous meeting minutes offered for adoption.

### At 2:19 p.m. Opening Remarks by Commission Chairperson and Introduction of Commission Members

Following prepared opening remarks regarding the Commission's mission and work ahead, Chairperson Brown introduced each voting member of the Commission and each voting member gave brief remarks. All 21 voting members of the Commission provided introductory remarks and brief biographical information.

#### At 3:09 p.m. Guest Speaker Pennsylvania State Representative Chris Rabb

State Representative Chris Raub spoke about Act 57 and his concerns surrounding the loophole in the Act (Rabb provided a link to the legislation in the chat room of the meeting).

#### At 3:17 p.m. Introductory Remarks by Ex-Officio Commission Members

Chairperson Brown opened the floor to ex-officio members of the Commission to provide brief introductory remarks. Ex-officio Commission members provided brief biographical information along with agency descriptions (where applicable). Those who spoke included:

- Mike Pennington, PCCD
- John Norbeck, Deputy Secretary for Parks and Forestry, DCNR
- Marcus Brown, Director of Homeland Security and Deputy Chief of Staff of the Governor
- Anne Cornick, Deputy General Counsel, OGC
- Joseph "Joe" Jacob, Superintendent, Capitol Police
- Christopher "Chris" King, Captain, PSP
- Robert Evanchick, Commissioner, PSP

#### At 3:34 p.m. Public Comment

Chairperson Brown opened the floor to any guests attending the meeting to offer public comment. No prior public comments or guests were registered ahead of time. One guest spoke during the meeting:

• Ashleigh Strange (regarding the Commonwealth's use of force policy related to mental health)

#### At 3:36 p.m. Closing Remarks and Announcements by Commission Chairperson

Chairperson Brown provided closing remarks and informed the public about upcoming Commission meetings including a tentative special meeting of the Commission in the coming weeks to adopt Commission bylaws, nomination and appointment of Commission officers and establishment of Commission Sub-committees.

At 3:39 p.m. Public Meeting Adjourned





### **Roll Call and Attendance Form**

<b>Type of Commission Meeting:</b>	V	Quarterly		Special	☐ Rescheduled
Date and Time of Commission	Mee	eting:	121	2021	2:00pm

Pursuant to Article 6, Sections 2 and 5 of the Pennsylvania State Law Enforcement Citizen Advisory Commission's (Commission) Bylaws, I hereby attest to performing a Roll Call of Commission Membership at the above listed Commission meeting and recording attendance of Commission members as indicated below:

		Attendance				
Seat Name	Seat Name		Excused Absence	Absent		
At-Large Seat 1	David A. Sonenshein	/				
At-Large Seat 2	Dr. A. Suresh Canagarajah, Ph.D.					
At-Large Seat 3	Kelley B. Hodge, Esquire					
At-Large Seat 4	Denise Ashe					
At-Large Seat 5	Elizabeth C. Pittinger					
At-Large Seat 6	Maurice A. Tomlinson					
Troop A Seat	Jeffrey Wilson					
Troop B Seat	Brenda Tate	1				
Troop C Seat	Joshua S. Maines, Esquire					
Troop D Seat	Marisa C. Williams					
Troop E Seat	Bishop Curtis L. Jones, Sr.	//				
Troop F Seat	Honorable Erick J. Coolidge	/.				
Troop G Seat	Charima C. Young					
Troop H Seat	Spero T. Lappas, J.D., Ph.D	//				
Troop J Seat	Honorable Khadijah Al Amin	//		THE PLEASE		
Troop K Seat	Andrea A. Lawful-Sanders	/_				
Troop L Seat	William Colon	/				
Troop M Seat	Marvin Boyer					
Troop N Seat	Marilyn M. Brown, Ed.D.	//				
Troop P Seat	Rev. Shawn M. Walker	//				
Troop R Seat	Krista Somers					

Signature of Sha S. Brown, Commission Chairperson